Annual Curtis Center Mathematics and Teaching Conference

March 7, 2020

Thank you for attending!

Speaker Handouts

Professor Marcus Roper: Morning Keynote Presentation

Rachel Behr-Hirst: CAASPP Available Data

Julie McGough: Multiplication Fluency Development

Dr. Kim Samaniego: Using MDTP Formatively

Dr. Akihiko Takahashi: Collaborative Lesson Research

Helen Chan: Developing Percent Sense with Middle Schoolers

Professor Robert Brown: Cryptography for Kids 

Naehee Kwun: Sense-Making Routines

Marion C. Usselman: Educative Mathematics Curricula: Changing Teacher Practice and Beliefs Using Exemplars

Check back soon! Handouts will be posted as we receive them.


Sessions Topics:

  • Mathematics relevant to K-12 teachers
  • Mathematics lessons for K-12 classrooms
  • Current research in mathematics education

Download Conference Flyer
Download Conference Program

Conference Venue:

UCLA Luskin Conference Center
425 Westwood Plaza Los Angeles
California 90095


Parking is included with the conference fee. You will receive a coupon code by email about a week before the conference.

Please park in the visitor/pay by plate section of Lot 8. Find a pay station machine and enter your license plate number.  Choose “Coupon Code” from the list of options (you may have to select “more options” first)  and enter your code.


We recommend staying at the Luskin Conference Center as it is the host hotel.

Other hotels in the area include:

UCLA Guest House
W Los Angeles – West Beverly Hills
Hotel Palomar

Breakout Speakers Include:

Rachel Behr-Hirst

UCLA Curtis Center

Robert Brown

UCLA Mathematics Department

Helen Chan

UCLA Curtis Center

Claudia Falcon

UCLA Mathematics Department

Naehee Kwun

Centinela Valley Union School District

Kelly Marcum

James A. Garfield Sr. High School

Julie McGough

Azuza Unified School District

Eden Murphy

Apple Valley Unified School District

Michael Nakamaye

University of New Mexico

Deborah Peart

Illustrative Mathematics

Marcus Roper

UCLA Mathematics Department

Kelly Ann Sassone

Da Vinci Schools

Dan Teague

North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics

Marion Usselman

Georgia Institute of Technology

Michelle Welford

UCLA Curtis Center